Rock and Roll Marketing Course for Polytechnic University students

In this case, we share a story about our practical course that was invented and conducted at SPbPU by our marketers - Aleksander Bakharev and Aleksander Klimov.

Why a new approach is needed?

Even a zealous student can hardly explain what he learned in yesterday's class. Back in the 60s, the teacher Edgar Dale showed how much information a person can remember, depending on the form of education.

the pyramid of Dale Earnhardt

After the lecture, the student remembers only 5% of what he heard, while watching the video he will learn 20% of the material, and the immediate application of knowledge in practice gives 90% of success.

The theory will not make a specialist out of a student - practice is what important in marketing. The discipline is aimed at practicing to attract clients and retain them. The main KPI is not "likes" on social networks, but LTV (Lifetime Value) - (profit from one client for a lifetime).

There is no employer who cares how a marketer will achieve results. Flexible skills come in handy in negotiations, an analytical mind when planning a budget, and only luck when agreeing on creatives. As part of the course, we wanted to show students what they will face at work.

How the course works

We approached the problem of education as marketers and described our target audience - third-year students. Most of the problems in our audience are familiar to everyone who was a student:

evilUnion

Learned helplessness is a phenomenon discovered by American psychologist Martin Seligman in 1967 during experiments on dogs. In a state of learned helplessness, we do not feel the connection between effort and result. For example, students receive a lot of knowledge but cannot apply it. As a result, they give up and lose faith in themselves. The problem of learned helplessness can be solved if a person sees the result of his work.

In the course program, we based our education process on the problem-integrated educating method.

  • The problem-based learning method assumes that the students are faced with a problem that they must solve on their own. The teacher should only push for the correct decision. The approach develops creative thinking, self-study, the ability to apply knowledge in practice, and independence.
  • An integrated teaching method implies communication between the students themselves and the teacher. When students listen to lectures or watch YouTube videos, they passively take in information and remember less. The work within the framework of the integrated method may look like this: students complete the task in a team, and then discuss the difficulties and the solution with the teacher.

Faculty of Psychology of St. Petersburg State University Aleksander Bakharev diploma

Thanks to the Faculty of Psychology of St. Petersburg State University for the courses and to the mathematics teacher Anatoly Okunev for his book! They helped create a course that we ourselves would like to take at the university.

We decided to communicate with students in a closed community on the social network "VKontakte". There you can send messages in private on behalf of the group, you can conduct polls, discuss other works and publish useful content.

Grade table

Rules of the game

Tasks were assessed on a point system - to be admitted to the exam, students need to score 300 points.

We also set a deadline and punishments for breaking them. If the deadline was missed, the task score was multiplied by 0.5. Replies were accepted through Google Forms, which made it easier to check if deadlines were met - time was automatically noted in Google Sheets. Students could see the grades of their groupmates in the table - this appeared as an element of gamification.

Table of students

This is how the final list of assignments with student grades looks like.

In the matter of motivating students, we relied on Vroom's theory of expectations. The theory is based on the premise that the presence of an active need is not the only motivation. An important condition is the expectation of a person that the type of behavior chosen by him and the actions taken will actually lead to getting what he wants.

The first three places on the list received two additional points on the exam, the next seven - one point, the next seven - half of a point. In total, 17 people from a group could receive the award. The students realized that their chances were high, so they were motivated to compete for these points.

The rating approach has been criticized by many people. They say that it damages students' self-esteem. But the self-esteem of young professionals usually suffers at the first serious job, after the very first harassment from the bosses. We decided that students should learn to accept criticism now. And let the boss break off, who in the future decides to assert himself at their expense!

Examples of tasks

At the first seminar, students were given a task: to come up with their own startup. They worked on this project throughout the course. They were more responsible for what they did than for standard assignments (thanks to Dan Ariely for the TED talk).

And in order to come up with tasks, we highlighted the hard and soft skills necessary for a marketing specialist.

soft skills

hard skills

Typing groupmates

The students studied the theory of psychological types from marketers Evgenia Gromova and Marina Gerasimova. Students filled out a questionnaire in which they indicated their psycho type and rated 10 other people from their class. This task helped to kill several birds with one stone:

  • The students put the theory into practice immediately after studying.
  • It turned out that they made a list of opinion leaders of the group - these students were chosen for typing more often than others. We also identified their psycho types.
  • A table has been made, which shows what psycho type is assigned to the student by fellow students and himself.
  • Using Affinity Propagation and t-SNE, the group was divided into clusters. It appeared so because, in the beginning, people chose their friends.
  • There was a demonstration of the powerful Python for data analysis.
  • The shortcomings of the theory of psycho types and were analyzed.

Clusters of students

Clusters of students

Psycho types of students

Public speaking

Students chose a topic from a list and prepared a ten-minute presentation. The speakers could not read from a piece of paper, they had to keep the attention of the audience and interact with the audience - everything was like at a real conference. As a result, we decided to organize a real conference, together with the students, we came up with a concept, title and banner. The meeting was supported by the Polytech marketing club.

SEO experiment

We came up with the nonsensical word "Zirconder" - the search engines did not know it, the search results were empty. Students had to write an article and compete for the first three places in the search results by optimizing their sites and coming up with alternative tools.

Search results

These are the search results.

Case Championship

Students received case studies from Sberbank, Tinkoff, Alfa-Bank, Electra and EXCLAiM. It was necessary to develop a promotion strategy based on several studies. Everything is like in a real marketing job - description of the target audience and super ideas, creating video banners, positioning in social networks. Students made a presentation to the jury - graduates of the Polytechnic University (Yuri Burkov - head of advertising and marketing department of the north-western branch of BEELINE, Inna Tsivina - managing partner of the intellectual Internet marketing agency RE: SPOND) .

The winners of the championship received an offer from companies whose case they were solving. And three more students were invited to work by the members of the jury.

Theory of Mind development training

Theory of Mind contains the concepts of emotional intelligence - empathy. The development of these skills allows you to literally "get into someone else's shoes" and understand what a person is thinking - a very important skill for a marketer. For immersion in the theory, it was proposed to develop training on this topic. Coming up with a "game" yourself is a difficult task, but some students have managed to find an interesting solution.

SPbPU outside class

We played the game of one of the students with the whole group outside in front of the educational building, pulling out the benches from the audience.

Results and outcomes

We foresaw the difficulties and encouraged students to read the book "Think Like a Mathematician" by Barbara Oakley and use the "Pomodoro" method for time management, but who listens to the teachers?

It was really difficult for the students - a lot of homework and tough deadlines. Several people said that this was the biggest workload during their studies.

From the very beginning, we allowed students to sail openly, and they were not used to that. It took a while, and we were able to explain that dumb following instructions did not make sense. Most importantly, the majority of students said that it was all worth it at the end of the semester.

After the exam, a survey was conducted. Although a few people were denied admission, the survey results were very good.

We also asked students to choose the course topics that they liked the most. Thanks to this list, we learned which tasks need to be finalized. For example, few have noted George Kelly's study of personality construct. This is a very important topic, so we need to figure out how to present it to students in the future.

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

In the end, we would like to say thank you to all the participants in the course. You are great fellows! It was very pleasant to work with you, to participate in heated discussions, to check your work and to see that every day you are getting better at the subject.

Special thanks to Anastasiy Igorevich Klimin, head of the “Marketing” direction of the Great School of Business and Management (GSBM) Polytech Institute of Industrial Management, Economics and Trade, for this opportunity and for teaching us in our student years! And to the rest of the teachers of the now-defunct PIK department, we are grateful to you for your work!

Feedback

source

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

Рок-н-ролльный курс

маркетинга для Политеха

В этом кейсе рассказываем о практическом курсе, который придумали и провели в СПбПУ наши маркетологи — Александр Бахарев и Александр Климов.

Почему нужен новый подход

Даже усердный отличник с трудом объяснит, что он узнал на вчерашнем занятии. Ещё в 60-е годы педагог Эдгар Дейл показал, сколько информации запоминает человек в зависимости от формы обучения.

пирамида эдгара дейла

После лекции студент помнит только 5% услышанного, за просмотром видео усвоит 20% материала, а немедленное применение знаний на практике даёт 90% успеха.

Теория не сделает из студента специалиста — в маркетинге важна практика. Дисциплина направлена на привлечение и удержание клиента компании. И основной KPI — это не лайки в социальных сетях, а LTV (Lifetime Value) — прибыль с одного клиента за всю жизнь).

И ни одному работодателю не важно, как маркетолог будет добиваться результатов. На переговорах пригодятся гибкие навыки, при планировании бюджета — аналитический склад ума, а при согласовании креативов — разве что удача. В рамках курса мы хотели показать студентам, с чем им предстоит столкнуться на работе.

Как устроен курс

Мы подошли к проблеме обучения как маркетологи и описали нашу целевую аудиторию — студентов третьего курса. Большинство проблем нашей аудитории знакомо всем, кто был студентом:

Проблемы студентов

Выученная беспомощность — феномен, который открыл американский психолог Мартин Селигман в 1967 году в ходе экспериментов над собаками. В состоянии выученной беспомощности мы не ощущаем связи между усилиями и результатом. Например, студенты получают массу знаний, но не могут их применить. В результате они сдаются и теряют веру в себя. Проблема выученной беспомощности решается, когда человек видит результат своей работы.

В программе курса мы основывались на проблемно-интегрированном методе обучения.

  • Проблемный метод обучения предполагает, что перед учениками стоит проблему, которую они должны ее решить самостоятельно. Преподаватель должен только подталкивать к правильному решению. Подход развивает творческое мышление, самообучение, умение применять знания на практике и самостоятельность.
  • Интегрированный метод обучения подразумевает под собой общение между самими учениками и учителем. Когда студенты слушают лекции или смотрят видео на YouTube, они воспринимают информацию пассивно и запоминают немногое. Работа в рамках интегрированного метода может выглядеть так: студенты выполняют задание в команде, а потом обсуждают трудности и решение с преподавателем.

СПБГУ психфак Бахарев Александр

Спасибо факультету Психологии СПБГУ за курсы и учителю математики Анатолию Окуневу за его книгу! Они помогли создать курс, который мы бы сами хотели пройти в университете.

Мы решили общаться со студентам в закрытом сообществе во «ВКонтакте». От имени группы можно рассылать сообщения в личку, в группе можно проводить опросы, обсуждать другие работы и публиковать полезный контент.

Таблица успеваймости

Правила игры

Задания оценивали по балльной системе — для допуска к экзамену нужно набрать 300 баллов.

Также мы установили дедлайн и наказывали за его несоблюдение. При срыве сроков оценка за задание умножалась на 0,5. Ответы принимались через Google Формы, что упростило проверку соблюдения сроков — время автоматически отмечалось в Google Таблицах. Студенты могли посмотреть оценки однокурсников в таблице — это стало элементом игрофикации.

Таблица со студентами

Так выглядит итоговый список заданий с оценками студентов.

В вопросе мотивации студентов, мы опирались на теорию ожиданий Врума. Теория основана на положении, что наличие активной потребности — не единственная мотивация. Важным условием является ожидание человеком того, что выбранный им тип поведения и предпринимаемые действия действительно приведут к получению желаемого. 

Занявшие с первого по третье место в списке получили два дополнительных балла на экзамене, следующие семь — один балл, следующие семь — половину балла. В сумме награду могли получить 17 человек из группы человек. Студенты понимали, что их шансы высоки, поэтому они были мотивированы бороться за баллы.

Многие критикуют рейтинговый подход и говорят, что он портит самооценку учеников. Но самооценка молодых специалистов обычно страдает на первой серьёзной работе, после первого же разноса от начальства. Мы решили, что ученикам стоит научиться принимать критику уже сейчас. И пускай обломается начальник, который в будущем решит самоутвердиться за их счёт!

Примеры заданий

На первом семинаре студенты получили задание: придумать свой стартап. Над этим проектом они работали в течение всего курса. К своему делу они относились ответственнее, чем к стандартным заданиям (спасибо, Дэну Ариели за лекцию на TED).

А для того, чтобы придумать задания, мы выделили hard и soft skills, необходимые маркетологу.

hard

soft

Типирование однокурсников

Студенты изучили теорию психологических типов маркетологов Евгении Громовой и Марины Герасимовой и заполнили опросник, в котором указали свой психотип и ещё десяти однокурсников. Это задание помогло убить нескольких зайцев сразу:

  • Студенты воспользовались теорией на практике сразу после изучения.
  • Получилось составить список лидеров мнений группы — этих студентов выбирали для типирования чаще других. Также мы определили их психотипы.
  • Сделана таблица, в которой показано, какой психотип присваивают студенту однокурсники и он сам.
  • При помощи Affinity Propagation и t-SNE группа была разбита на кластеры. Получилось сделать это, потому что в начале люди выбирали своих друзей.
  • Была демонстрация могущественного Python для анализа данных.
  • Разобраны недостатки теории психотипов и соционики.

Группировка студентов

Группы студентов

Политех

Публичное выступление

Студенты выбрали тему из списка и подготовили десятиминутное выступление. Докладчикам нельзя было читать с листка, нужно было удержать внимание зала и взаимодействовать с аудиторией — всё как на настоящей конференции. В итоге мы решили её организовать, придумали вместе со студентами концепцию, название и баннер. Встреча прошла при поддержке маркетингового клуба Политеха.

SEO-эксперимент

Мы придумали бессмысленное слово «Циркондещик» — поисковики его не знали, выдача была пуста. Студенты должны были написать статью и побороться за первые три места в поисковой выдаче, оптимизируя свои сайты.

evilUnion

Студенты нашалили в выдаче, а кто-то даже попросил о помощи на Пикабу.

Кейс-чемпионат

Студенты получили кейсы от компаний «Сбербанк», «Тинькофф», «Альфа-банк», Electra и EXCLAiM. Нужно было разработать стратегию продвижения, основанную на нескольких исследованиях. Всё как у взрослых — описание целевой аудитории и супер-идеи, изготовление видеобаннеров, позиционирование в социальных сетях. Студенты провели презентацию перед жури – выпускниками Политеха (Юрий Бурков – выпускник ПИК, руководитель отдела рекламы и маркетинга северо-западного отделения БИЛАЙН, Инна Цивина – выпускник ПИК, управляющий партнёр агентства интеллектуального интернет-маркетинга RE:SPOND).
Победители чемпионата получили оффер от компаний, чьей кейс они решали. А ещё троих студентов пригласили на работу члены жюри.

Тренинг на развитие Theory of Mind

Theory of Mind вмещает в себя понятия эмоционального интеллекта — эмпатии. Развитие этих навыков позволяет буквально «влезть в чужую шкуру» и понять, о чём думает человек — очень важный для маркетолога навык. Для погружения в теорию предложили разработать тренинг на эту тему. Придумать «игру» самому — сложная задача, но у некоторых студентов получилось найти интересное решение.

СПБПУ занятие на улице

В игру одного из студентов мы сыграли всей группой на улице перед учебным корпусом, вытащив скамейки из аудитории.

Результаты и итоги

Мы предвидели сложности и рекомендовали студентам прочитать книгу Барбары Оакли «Думай как математик» и использовать метод «Помидора» для управления временем, но кто слушает преподов!

Учащимся правда было непросто — много домашних заданий и суровые дедлайны. Несколько человек сказали, что это была самая большая нагрузка за время учёбы.

Мы сразу пустили студентов в открытое плавание, и к этому они тоже не привыкли. Потребовалось время, и мы смогли объяснить, что тупое следование инструкциям не имеет смысла. Главное, многие в конце семестра сказали, что всё это того стоило.

После экзамена был проведён опрос студентов. Хоть несколько человек и получили недопуск, результаты опроса очень хорошие.

Также мы попросили студентов выбрать темы курса, которые понравились им больше всего. Благодаря этому списку мы узнали, какие задания необходимо доработать. Например, мало кто отметил изучение теории личностных конструктов Джорджа Келли. Это очень важная тема, поэтому надо придумать, как подать её студентам в будущем.

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

В конце нам хочется сказать спасибо всем участникам курса. Вы большие молодцы! Было очень приятно иметь с вами дело, участвовать в бурных обсуждениях, проверять ваши работы и видеть, что с каждым днём вы всё лучше разбираетесь в предмете.

Отдельное спасибо руководителю направления «Маркетинг» Высшей Школы Управления и Бизнеса (ВШУБ) Политех ИПМЭиТ Анастасию Игоревичу Климину за эту возможность и за воспитание нас самих в студенческие годы! И остальным преподавателям ныне несуществующей кафедры ПИК, мы благодарны Вам за вашу работу!

Отзывы

источник

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

evilUnion

Другие образовательные проекты